What We Have For Dinner

 

We try to eat mostly a Paleo diet, avoiding wheat and having too many grains. If we eat grains I like to soak them overnight to reduce the phytic acid in the grains. Though this isn’t always practical, and I often forget to soak grains.

I thought I would share a few of our meals with you, to show you how we avoid eating too many carbs.

First is a meatloaf I made with bacon on top.

I mix some spices with some oatmeal and an egg. I make a spice mixture from “Practical Paleo” called cooling spice blend, it contains turmeric, cinnamon, cumin, oregano, black pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. It’s yummy!IMGP1336

I then add some tomato paste:

IMGP1338

The beef goes in next:

IMGP1340

I mix it all up and put it in a oiled bread pan. I then lay bacon over the top:

IMGP1341

As the meatloaf bakes, I make a salad:

IMGP1348

Starfruit makes a salad pretty!

IMGP1353

Dinner is served! I always make my own dressings, as the dressings in the store have many questionable ingredients.

On another night we have steaks with another blend of spices, lots of turmeric and oregano, some salt and garlic powder.

IMGP1365

I love love love steak, it is my favorite meat.

Along side the steaks we have mashed potatoes with lots of coconut oil and some almond milk.

IMGP1364

There is some chai tea being made in the background, yum yum yum.

Last night we had spaghetti squash.This squash was grown by my friend last summer, oh how I love homegrown goodness. I like to make a sauce to bake in the spaghetti squash, and forgo the pasta noodles. First I bake the squash until it is soft, I then add the sauce and re bake it for 15-20 minutes.

IMGP1417

The sauce I made was a tomato sauce with feta, olives and sun-dried tomatoes.

IMGP1419

A colorful salad accompanies the meal. Fresh lettuce from a local grower, a pink lady apple, an orange pepper and cherry tomatoes.

IMGP1418

The dressing is just some olive oil and a lovely lemon thyme balsamic vinegar I found in the city.

IMGP1421

Yumm Yummy Yum. I am getting hungry, are you? Hopefully this can inspire some dinner ideas for you 🙂 Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

