Outings (Mission C-Papa Part 7)

On the third day of our visit to Gold River, we made a day trip to Campbell River for more groceries and some fun. I also wanted to scope out some shops in search of something I have been saving for since Christmas – a Pentax DSLR. My mission for this trip, besides seeing Papa, was finding myself a used camera; our small northern town just doesn’t have an abundance of used cameras. I had originally thought that I would find one on kijiji or craigslist, but I didn’t know how I would make time to meet someone to actually look at a camera. My hope on this day trip to Campbell River was to be super lucky and find what I was looking for (not an easy feat, as Pentax’s are not as popular as Canon’s or Nikon’s).

Before camera hunting,  a play at the park and a walk by the ocean was in order.

DSC00605

DSC00600

DSC00603

DSC00614

DSC00617

DSC00620

After having lunch at a sushi restaurant (my girls’ favorite food), we went camera hunting. First, the pawn shop. Only a Nikon there, and way too expensive. O.K, off to the Photo Tech store down the street. I really did not expect to find what I wanted, oh how will I ever get my camera? But wait…what is that in the display case??…it says…Pentax! YAY. I was excited. A Pentax K-r, awesome, in my price range, spectacular. I left the store with a smile on my face and a determination to come back and buy that camera. I needed some time to think it over first – to make sure it is what I wanted. After grocery shopping, I decided to go back and ask for a discount as the taxes took it over my budget. The man who ran the store was very nice and gave me the discount, I couldn’t be happier, I got a good camera for a good price.

I can’t wait to start playing with it!

One response to “Outings (Mission C-Papa Part 7)

  1. Admiring the time and effort you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

